The 2016 Mrs./Mr. Goodfellow Recipients

The 2016 Mrs./Mr. Goodfellow recipients Brian Cox, Angela Scott and Bridget Cox receive their award from the Chatham Goodfellows Board.  L – R Rose Peseski Director , Brian Cox, Angela Scott, Scott Williston President, Birdget Cox, Tim Haskell Director and Tim Mifflin Director.

Each year the Chatham Goodfellows Board of Directors Executive Committee has to make the difficult decision of choosing the Mrs. /Mr. Goodfellow. It is a decision that is not taken lightly.  The Chatham Goodfellows Executive Committee is guided by the simple code that is printed every year in the Chatham Goodfellows newspaper.  

The final stanza of the code accurately describes the recipients for 2016;  “the Goodfellows’ Code is writ: The best of life and the worth of it.  Is not, how much can I get for me, But what I have done to be neighbourly”. 

Our recipient’s involvement began by helping out, but their leadership role for their organization blossomed in 2009.  A former Mrs. Goodfellow and Chatham Goodfellow leader in her organization had to step back for personal reasons in 2009.    Our recipients had “big shoes to fill!”  While Chatham Goodfellows Board were sad to lose a tremendous champion for Chatham Goodfellows, the Board was pleased to gain three new champions who embrace the culture of community of practice of philanthropy.

Our recipients held jersey days, unique raffles, interesting luncheons & breakfasts as well as Spooktacular.  In the words of the of Chatham Goodfellows 2005 Mrs. Goodfellow Linda Anderson, the rest is history.  Since they took over the reins, it has just gotten bigger and better.  The hard work and dedication of our recipients are responsible for continuing the community of practice of philanthropy with Union Gas employees.    They are responsible to helping Union Gas employees reach thousands of hours of sweat equity and over $500,000 in donations.

It is my privilege to introduce Angela Scott, Bridget Cox and Brian Cox  as Mrs./Mr. Goodfellow 2016.